Going bananas for banana bread!

When it comes to bananas, I’m a bit of a minion, in that I love them! I eat a lot of them, along with adding them to my smoothies and chia seed puddings. However last week I somehow didn’t get through my large banana supply and had quite a few over ripe ones. So I decided to make Deliciously Ella’s banana bread – recipe here: http://deliciouslyella.com/banana-bread/. It was delicious and I soon was out buying more bananas so that I could make more!

bananabread1

However, as I have always done when making cakes, I like to change up the recipe a bit and so far have made three different variations and wanted to share them with you.

1st variation – I just added a large handful of cacao nibs to give the bread a bit of a crunch!

bananabread2

2nd variation – this one mainly came out of me having lots of bananas but not a lot else in the house, so I raided the cupboards to see what I could find!

Recipe:

  • 5 over-ripe bananas
  • Nearly a full cup of macadamia nuts
  • Just over 2 cups of mixed nuts and dried fruit
  • 1 cup of buckwheat flour
  • 3 large tablespoons of honey
  • 4 medjool dates
  • 2 tablespoons of cinnamon
  • 3 tablespoons of chia seeds

I blitzed all the nuts and dried fruit in my Nutribullet (any food processor would do the job). I then put them into a big bowl and added the rest of the dry ingredients (buckwheat flour, cinnamon and chia seeds).

I then again used my Nutribullet to blitz the bananas, honey and dates (I added a little bit of water to help it all blend) and then added the sticky mixture into the dry ingredients and mixed it together well.

Finally I put the mix into a tin lined with greaseproof paper and cooked it in the oven for an hour and a half at 145 degrees centigrade/until the knife almost came out clean.

I think adding the dried fruit, honey and dates made the mixture a lot more gooey, which is why it took longer to cook. It was indeed worth waiting for!

3rd variation – this time I was craving chocolate and had having used up my stores of mixed fruit and nut, I had luckily just got my delivery of organic walnuts and cashew nuts from RealFoodSource.

walnuts cashew nuts

So the recipe this time was:

  • 5 over-ripe bananas
  • 1 cup of cashew nuts
  • 2 cups of walnuts
  • 1 cup of buckwheat flour
  • 3 large tablespoons of honey
  • ½ cup prunes
  • 2 tablespoons of cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons of organic cacao powder
  • Handful of organic cacao nibs
  • 3 tablespoons of chia seeds

Method was pretty similar, blitzing the walnuts and cashew nuts first. Then mixing them and the rest of the dry ingredients in a large bowl.

Then I blitzed the bananas, honey and prunes with a bit of water and mixed them into the dry ingredients.

Again it went in the oven at 145 degrees centigrade, but this time the knife came out clean in just over an hour. I think this is because I upped the dry ingredients. It wasn’t as gooey as the 2nd variation, but still a bit gooier than the original and first variation, with the crunch of the 1st variation added back in. Along with more of a chocolate hit, so I think this is my favourite variation so far. It’s highly likely there will be more variations to come!

banana bread

One thought on “Going bananas for banana bread!

Leave a Reply

