“The more I live, the more I learn. The more I learn, the more I realise, the less I know” ― Michel Legrand

I’ve learned a lot over the past few years, mostly from people that have taught me new things. But also from them inspiring me to want to learn even more and question what before I thought I knew! So after being pointed in the right direction, my spending on Amazon has increased as I keep buying more books. 

I’ve always loved reading books and the first book I can remember loving so much I could barely put it down was “White Fang” by Jack London. It’s a story about the life of a three-quarters wolf and one-quarter dog born in the wild and after a harsh life in Indian camps finally finds happiness and peace. There have been quite a few books since then that I also couldn’t put down. Including the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer, the Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins and most recently the Divergent series by Veronica Roth.

White-Fang twilight books hunger games books divergent

I used to only read fictional books and still do occasionally. But over the past year I’ve read a lot more factual books and cookbooks!

It all started when I changed to diet to a plant based one. My amazing nutritionalist Sylvia Sobota from Nurture Your Body guided me on changing my diet and gave me a nutritional plan as well as the scientific explanations behind why changing my diet would benefit me in so many ways. I like most people thought I knew a lot about food, as we are taught it in school, by our parents and see huge advertising campaigns telling us we need milk to have strong healthy bones and meat to grow big and strong. Well this quote kinda says it all:

think we know

And oh my have I learnt a lot! The first book I read was called “Skinny Bitch” by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin and I highly recommend it to anyone. For the men out there you might want to read “Skinny Bastard” by the same authors. As they say themselves the title is for effect, so don’t let that put you off. Both a wake-up call and a kick in the ass, Skinny Bitch exposes the horrors of the food industry while inspiring people to eat well and enjoy food. I love their style of writing and it just made me want to learn more.

skinny_bitch

One of the next books I read was “Thrive Fitness” by Brendan Brazier, a professional Ironman triathlete.

thrive fitness

Then I moved onto even more scientific books including “The Raw Cure” by Jesse J Jacoby and I’m about to start reading “Whole” by T. Colin Campbell and then will read “Rethink Food” by Shushana Castle and Amy-Lee Goodman.

food books rethink food

My mum has always had a big cupboard full of cookbooks and I often used them, but predominantly to bake cakes! I did however learn a lot about baking from them, so when I changed my diet to a plant based one, I knew I would need to invest in filling up my own cookbook cupboard! Oh and my mum’s cupboard is now updated with a load of plant based cookbooks too (yes you can make lots of plant based cakes also!). Cookbooks were essential to get more ideas of things to eat and to be able to make delicious meals rather than sticking to the same thing each day and quickly getting bored. Once I had read a few, I started to know good combinations and became more confident with editing recipes to include things I liked or just what I had available in my cupboards. Here are a few of my favourite ones, including “Deliciously Ella” by Ella Woodward, “Oh She Glows” by Angela Liddon, “Thrive Energy Cookbook” by Brendon Brazier, “Vegan with a Vengeance” by Chandra Moskowitz, “The Gluten Free Vegan” by Susan O’Brien and “The Blender Girl” by Tess Masters:

cook books

While reading and learning so much about food, with my natural inquisition into how powerful food can be in making the body happier and more efficient, I also started to read about the power of the mind. As a lot of this was all driven by my ambitions to perform better in my sport, I started reading several books by Dan Millman. The first of which was the “Way of the Peaceful Warrior” based on Dan’s own real life experiences and success a former world-champion athlete. This book is an innovative approach to fitness that applies Eastern philosophies to the Western concept of physical well – being and sports training. It demonstrates that the true essence of a champion is indeed the culmination of a strong body, mind, as well as spirit. Basically put, it keynotes the mind/ body/ spiritual levels necessary in becoming a ‘ whole ‘ person.

way of the peaceful warrior

I enjoyed this book so much, I went on to read his other book “Body Mind Mastery” which is all about the path to success through training and the integration of the body and mind. The book covers developing mental and physical talent, training, competition and the evolution of athletics. It examines the psychology behind the search for athletic excellence. Feeling I wanted to learn even more I went on to read another one of his books “No Ordinary Moments” which talks about clearing the mind, opening emotions and energising the body in everyday life.

mind body mastery no ordinary moments

So overall I think the quote in the title of this post: “The more I live, the more I learn. The more I learn, the more I realise, the less I know” ― Michel Legrand and the header image quote “Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body” – Sir Richard Stelle, sums it all up quite well. That there is so much to learn and reading books can be a great place to start.

learning

Leave a Reply

