T-1 week to the World Championships

I can’t believe there is only just over a week left until I fly out to Bulgaria. I’m really looking forward to it and watching the promo video makes me even more excited: https://youtu.be/R-GrPthLPiA. We had our final England squad training session today which went really well. Still need to get myself a proper white shirt for the flight out there (as the team travels in suits) but apart from that everything is pretty much sorted.

The squad going to the Worlds
The squad going to the Worlds

Day to day training has been going really well and under the guidance of my great wholistic therapist Sylvia Sobota, have made a few little tweaks to my nutrition and training programme last week, but overall it’s been another good solid week of training and eating!

Last week’s nutrition consisted of:

  • Breakfast – Smoothie with a banana, dates, nut butter and Indigo Herbs of Glastonbury superfoods as well as oatmeal with pumpkin seeds, goji berries and cacao powder.
Some of the Indigo Herbs superfoods in my smoothie
Some of the Indigo Herbs superfoods in my smoothie
Resulting in a delicious green smoothie #plantbuilt indeed
Resulting in a delicious green smoothie #plantbuilt indeed
Porridge with cacao powder, tastes a lot better than it looks
Porridge with cacao powder, tastes a lot better than it looks
  • Mid-morning snack – fruit (apples, mango, berries or nectarines)
fruit
Love fruit so much. This is what fast food is supposed to be!
  • Lunch – brown rice, lentils and veg (peas, beans, peppers, carrots, broccoli) along with my vitamins and minerals from Veganicity.
Prepped my lunches on Sunday, based on the Oh She Glows protein power goddess bowl recipe.
Prepped my lunches on Sunday, based on the Oh She Glows protein power goddess bowl recipe.
veganiciity
Just a few of my vitamins from Veganicity
  • Mid afternoon snack – fruit smoothie with Indigo Herbs of Glastonbury superfoods
One of the best purchases I've made is my Nutribullet!
One of the best purchases I’ve made is my Nutribullet as makes smoothie making so easy!
  • Pre-training – juice (celery, cucumber, beetroot, fennel, apple)
  • Post – training – chia seed pudding and slice of banana bread
Chia seed pudding with RealFoodSource organic chia seeds, goji berries and cacao nibs - delicious.
Chia seed pudding with RealFoodSource organic chia seeds, goji berries and cacao nibs – delicious.
Banana bread based on Deliciously Ella's recipe, which I edit each time. Goji berries added this time for more superfood antioxidant goodness!
Banana bread based on Deliciously Ella’s recipe, which I edit each time. Goji berries added this time for more superfood antioxidant goodness!

Last week’s training consisted of:

  • Mon:
    • AM – skipping, footwork drills, shadow sparring and kettlebells
    • PM – GRIT class and TKD
    • Always good to start the week as you mean to go on and here is the proof of my effort from the recording of my Microsoft band – with my morning session at the top and the evening GRIT session on the bottom:
A few essential pieces of workout equipment, a ladder, skipping rope and kettlebell
A few essential pieces of workout equipment, a ladder, skipping rope and kettlebell
Recording from my Microsoft band for my Monday sessions #workinghard
Recording from my Microsoft band for my Monday sessions #workinghard
  •  Tues:
    • Lunch: Yoga class
    • PM: footwork/shadow sparring
  • Wed:
    • AM: GRIT class
    • PM: Footwork & padwork PT session at Nuffield Health and TKD
  • Thurs:
    • AM: TKD patterns
    • PM: TKD PT & TKD fitness and sparring session
patterns training3
Bit of TKD patterns practise
  • Fri:
    • Lunch: Explosive weights PT session
  • Sat – rest day
  • Sun:
    • ITF England squad session

So it’s still been a tough training week, which with the championships getting closer meant ensuring my recovery from each session was as important as ever. So I made sure I had a nuun tab in my water each session to ensure I remained fully hydrated, as I pretty much leave a puddle of sweat all over the mats every session!

Downed my water with a Nuun tab after the sweaty Monday footwork session
Downed my water with a Nuun tab after the sweaty Monday footwork session

Also using my BetterYou magnesium sprays daily and having several Epsom salt baths with magnesium flakes to keep my muscles happy.

Muscle recovery magnesium essentials from BetterYou
Muscle recovery magnesium essentials from BetterYou

As well as some CherryActive after the tough Thursday fitness and sparring session at Thames Valley TKD.

Hydration and extra antioxidants from the montmorenty cherries in CherryActive
Hydration and extra antioxidants from the montmorenty cherries in CherryActive

As I’m not cutting weight this time, I’ll be training pretty much as normal next week and then calming down from Wednesday to give my body almost a week’s rest and recovery before the competition starts the following week.

In prep for flying out I’ve been keeping the porters at work very busy with lots of deliveries (mainly food) arriving at my desk each day, as like at the Euros I’ll be taking a good supply of food with me to the Worlds! I also got a really exciting parcel of sponsorship kit from Indigo Herbs of Glastonbury, so thank you again!

Fantastic kit from the lovely team at Indigo Herbs of Glastonbury
Fantastic kit from the lovely team at Indigo Herbs of Glastonbury
One thought on “T-1 week to the World Championships

Leave a Reply

