#ThisGirlCan

You may have seen the TV ad and hopefully you were as inspired by it as I was.

This_Girl_Can_Logo_CMYK

This Girl Can is a national campaign developed by Sport England and a wide range of partnership organisations. It’s a celebration of active women up and down the country who are doing their thing no matter how well they do it, how they look or even how red their face gets. You can find out more here: http://www.thisgirlcan.co.uk/

I often get people jokingly saying they thought I should have been born a boy – mainly because of how sporty I am and because of my choice of sport and yeah because I’m not your typical girly girl! I don’t mind at all and consider it a huge compliment to be told the only girly thing about my sparring is my pink gum shield! Which is why I liked Skyla so much from the ad: http://www.thisgirlcan.co.uk/activities/boxing/. I think a lot of sports are still thought of as “boys” sports and while I’m not taking anything away from all the amazing male athletes and indeed boxers out there, I just don’t think women should be afraid to give boxing, all other martial arts and sport in general a good go!

skyla
Totally with you on the pink!

They have a great site with lots of activities listed, so check it out and you might find one you want to have a go at and just remember everyone has to start out as a beginner, so you never know what you can achieve until you give it a go!

They also have a cool app you can use on your mobile and make your own poster. Check it out here: http://app.thisgirlcan.co.uk/#home

#thisgirlcan

Leave a Reply

