Winning the 2015 Reading Female Sport Personality of the Year award!

On Sunday 3rd January I went along to the 2015 Reading Sports Personality of the Year awards. My instructor Master Whiteley from Thames Valley Taekwon-Do had very kindly nominated me for an award. The first I found out about it was when I got a letter inviting me along. It just said I had been nominated so while I was very hopeful to win, my instructor did say there was very tough competition!

invite

The event was very smart with hundreds of people attending the ceremony to celebrate Reading’s heroes and heroines from across the sporting world, including the mayor of Reading Cllr Sarah Hacker, Reading FC manager Ian Branfoot, Wimbledon FA Cup hero Lawrie Sanchez and champion jockey John Francombe. The evening was presented by Chris Maughan and John Hindhaugh. There were 30 award categories and it was great to see how much sporting talent Reading has!

Towards the end of the evening, John Francombe was called to the stage to present the Female Sports Personality of the Year award and the presenters started to talk about being on their best behaviour so as not to upset this award winner. Master Whitley started to smile and as they continued talking about Taekwon-Do I couldn’t stop smiling and believe I had won! It was amazing to be recognised with this award for my achievements in 2015. The highlights of which were ending the year being ranked No. 1 Nationally, No. 2 in Europe and No. 3 in the World being the:

    • National Champion at the English, Welsh, British, London, Scottish and UK Open championships.
    • European Silver medallist in the -57kg sparring category at the 2015 European Championships in Italy.
    • World Bronze medallist in the -63kg sparring category at the 2015 World Championships in Blugaria.

I can’t wait to achieve even more in 2016 and hopefully be back again at the awards next year!

me4

 

 

Master Whiteley and I
With my instructor Master Whiteley who nominated me, thank you again so much!
One thought on “Winning the 2015 Reading Female Sport Personality of the Year award!

Leave a Reply

