MWTA British Taekwon-Do Championships

On the 30th April, I went down to The Winter Gardens in Margate, Kent to compete in the MWTA British Taekwon-Do Championships.

MWTA British Champs poster

It was a very busy event as lots of WKU kickboxing clubs attend also and I was looking forward to getting more experience competing against different styles.

The day started off with the colour belts and then after a late lunch break black belts were on. First was patterns where I won silver, being beaten in the final by a 3rd Dan.

Then it was sparring and in the continuous division I again took silver, after a close final to a very skilled opponent. They were also running a points scoring competition, which I have done once before at an ICO event. I did much better this time and got through several rounds, but just missed out on a medal. However it was good to see how much I have improved from the first time.

It was a long and tiring day, but I was very happy to have made the road trip to the competition and gotΒ back on the mats again! An added bonus was that I got to enjoy a walk along the beach just before the sun went down also.

 

Leave a Reply

