80 beautiful miles round Oxford done

On Sunday 11th Sept I took part in Bike Oxford sportive going round the 80 mile course. The sunshine came out and the course was a beautiful route through the countryside.

Having only done 65miles before I roughly knew I wanted to aim for an around an average pace of 15mph. However due to having several punctures on training rides, I invested in some recommended Gatorskin tyres which did the job and got me round puncture free. However as they warned, they did slow me down a little bit. So I’ll just have to work on my power and speed to be able to make the pedals go faster! Overall my Suunto Spartan sport clocked me crossing the finish line in 5hrs 34mins. However I didn’t quite hit go at the very start, as the course was and felt the whole 80miles so I was maybe closer to 5hr 35mins.

movescount

The course also had it’s fair share of hills which required some effort:

But it was great fun and my bum wasn’t too sore by the finish.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “80 beautiful miles round Oxford done

Leave a Reply

