65 miles of continuous hills – aka the Box Hill sportive

On Sunday 9th Oct I took part in the Cycling Weekly Box Hill Sportive.

box-hillfeature-1000x666-630x419

Having done the Surrey Hill’s Sportive, I’d been up a few of the hills before. However on the Box Hill sportive they seemed to find a course that was just hill after hill, as you can see from the altitude read out by my Suunto Sport watch.

14628257_10157417649445315_1772715324_n

When we got to Box Hill it felt easy in comparison with some of the previous ones! However it did have the best view from the top.

I was hoping to keep the same pace I’ve been doing round previous sportives, but didn’t quite factor in the hills and maybe the effect of going on a 10 mile run the day before (as that was prep for my upcoming duathlon) so as you can see my pace was all over the pace. Finally crossing the finish line 5 hours after I started and getting a nice medal while doing so!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So if you want a hilly cycle with some beautiful views, I highly recommend this one.

CWBOX09
Going up oneΒ of the many hills!

 

 

Leave a Reply

