Qualified for the World Championships!

On Sunday 25th June, I competed in the Xtra Mile events Llandudno Sea Sprint Triathlon which was also a qualifying event for the 2017 World Sprint Triathlon Championships.

The race involved a choppy sea swim, a hilly cycle of 2 laps up and round the Great Orme and then a fast and furious run along the prom up to Little Orme and back. So overall it was tough but great fun!

XME_ten_year_logo.png

Looking at each part of the race in isolation, in my age category I had the:

  • 8th fastest swim
  • 3rd fastest T1
  • 4th fastest cycle
  • I was the fastest in T2
  • 3rd fastest run

So it’s still clear the most work and improvement is needed in my swim – gotta get that glide! As you can see from the pictures the sprint finish in the run hurt!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The final results are that I came 3rd in my age category, 20th female overall and 158th overall.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

With the race being a qualifier event, it also means I’ve earned my spot to represent team GB at the 2017 Rotterdam ITU Sprint Distance Triathlon World Championships. There is so much work I need to do before then. But I’m happy that I’ve achieved my first aim of getting a GB spot and to do so in just under 4 months after my first ever triathlon for Comic Relief on the 9th March is a bonus!

British TriQualifiedBTF-LOGO-AGE

Until the Worlds I’ll be training hard, getting some more race experience in (I’ve done six triathlons so far) and having fun chasing my goals!

As always a huge thank you to the amazing Sylvia Sobota at Nurture Your Body for keeping my mind and body in working order. I know I make it a challenge for her to do so! To Better You for their fantastic magnesium products. I continue to cover myself in their magnesium oil and have baths full of their magnesium flakes as much as I can to helps my muscles recovery to be good to train hard all over again the next day! Also to Indigo Herbs of Glastonbury for their delicious super foods that help keep me fueled. I can’t recommend all of these companies highly enough, they are amazing!

Leave a Reply

